top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Guiding Hands

This was a group I helped to form, in the mid 80s. I served as secretary for a year or so. This group was established for blind people and their families. We held monthly meetings, as well as, recreational activities. I also recruited volunteers to help with the activities.

Through this group I was introduced to Chuck and Margaret Doumitt. They are the founders of The Star Center, and Accessible Technology Training Center. I helped with promoting and fundraising for this organization. It’s hard to believe that was 30 years ago.

While in Jackson, one of the most rewarding experiences I had was teaching braille to elderly people. I worked with the vocational rehabilitation teacher and every Saturday she would take me to work with her clients. I gave this one couple a puppy and they named him Lucky because, they said that they were lucky that I was in their lives.

bottom of page